Artist Profile: Katie So

Katie-So-01

I don’t know if I’ve always wanted to be an artist. I definitely fought it a bit in high school, but I’ve always felt the need to create things. I’ve always liked building things, making jewelry or binding my own books, making puppets, all that sort of thing. I don’t think I’d make it very far without some sort of creative outlet so I guess becoming an artist of some sort was inevitable.

Katie So is a Vancouver-based illustrator, and her work is quirky, and gives a bit of insight to an artist’s inner dialogue. Her toon about being jealous of her former self is both hilarious and a bit relatable. She draws inspiration from personal experience and the stories from her friends and family. Take a look at more of her work here.

katieso6

katieso3

Katie-So-03

Katie-So-06

Katie-So-07

Katie-So-04

Leave a Reply

